squishy

Lost in the fog

I’ve been working with computers since about 1970, mostly mini-computers like the VAX 11-780 (left), RDS500, and SEL.  

I also had a TI PPC which I got dirt cheap when TI went out of the computer business. It was really quite nice but didn’t work with anything but itself, I had to program it myself.  I sold it at a garage sale and got $50, and I consider myself fortunate. TI PPC

The first affordable ($200) Personal Computer was the Timex-Sinclair which had games like tic-tac-toe, chess, checkers, battleship, and various “adventure” games, text based they usually started out with (fill in the blank) is lost in the fog.

Which brings me to why I’m babbling about computers.  The majority of people are lost in the fog and don’t know it, the majority of the remainder are lost in the fog and don’t care. And a very few are lost in the fog and know it.  A quality of communication I call “squishy”.  For reasons I am not entirely clear on, I am aware of squishy.

To explain it I will re-define a few words.  First, reality. Reality is real.  Call it universe, great mysterious, god, space time continuum, Tao, ether if you prefer, doesn’t matter. It’s just a word for something that won’t fit inside our skulls. This seems obvious to me but apparently not to others.

Now we leave the land of reality and enter the land of squishy. (inside the skull)  Nothing here is real.  We see and we think about what we see.

As to what we see I’ll call yin and yang (it’s kinda close) the yin being the perception of reality and yang being the interpretation of reality.

As to what we think about what we see I’ll call mythos and logos (it’s kinda close)  Mythos being what we muse about yin and logos being what we think about yang.

The logos and mythos are compared and used to make a decision on what we do about yin and yang.  None of this is reality.  Reality, and only reality, is real.

The squishy occurs with the yin and mythos part of this operation, with various duality views confusing one or the other or both but mostly neither for reality. (if they bother to think about it)

Most people are not aware of yin and mythos. (idiots) Most of the remainder don’t care.  (centered) But a few, a very few do.   (transcedents)

Is this really that complicated?  Try to keep your eye on the ball.

And I repeat, Mr Ted, You’re too much in your head, you’re overthinking this.  Keep in mind I do agree with what  you’re saying, you’re just incomplete.  You’ve replaced the concepts with words.  The word is not the concept.  This is a new kind of squishy to me.  Fascinating.

Leave a Reply

