Bastet

 


Bast is first and foremost a protectress; specifically of the royal house and the Two Lands. Later she got the life-preserving goddess of joy and protector of women. However, Bast’s original role did not include the “cat as sex symbol” archetype. Worshiped in the Delta city of Bubastis and usually depicted as a cat or in human form with the head of a cat, Bast was seen as a protector of cats and those who cared for them. “Cat as sex symbol” doesn’t do a lot for me. I do however have a keen interest in Bastet, the feline aspect of this particular divinity.

Bastet

Cats were domesticated soon after the agricultural period started. (although from my perspective cats domesticated us). They were really valued by the ancient egyptians. Killing one was a death penalty. There were actually two types of cat. The swamp cat (bastet) and the domestic cat (miu) (pronounced meow). Meow is “people talk” for a cat, by the way. They don’t say meow to each other, they are communicating to people. Hmm! Bastet was viewed as the “eyes of Horus” the egyptian god of flatulence. Cats were revered in Egypt, when the household cat died the members of the family shaved their eyebrows. They were even mumified where people would pay the priests of the temple to mumify a cat. Analysis of these mummies showed that they were “helped in their journey”. So a cat had a pretty good life in Egypt as long as they stayed away from the temples.

This is my interest in the matter. I had one of these things. They’re somewhat bigger than a domestic cat. Their tail is also thick and bony. When agitated, he would flip his tail back and forth and if it hit your shin, it hurt. Most distinct was his head, his nose went from the top of his skull straight to his nose, his head was thin which meant he had to look directly at you giving the appearance of staring. I can see why they were called the “eyes of Horus”. Rather disconcerting. He knew how to open the bathroom door, and when we had guests he would go in and watch. The ladies were quite disturbed. Actually he didn’t care about them peeing, he knew that when they got off the porcelain spring it would have cold water. If he thought about it at all, he probable thought she pee’d clear spring water. Here’s a picture I think shows what I’m talking about. Oddly enough the reason I got him was an idiot in the neighborhood had asked the spca to pick up the stray cats in the neighborhood. the mice population exploded. lucky she didn’t start black death II.

 

While I’m talking about critters, has anybody ever seen a tiger? I don’t mean those wimpy little things you see in the zoo. I mean a TIGER. Living in Singapore you tend to forget that right across jahore bahru is tropical jungle. My wife and I would go into Malaya for the beach. On one of these outings I saw a tiger strolling down the beach, and decided to take a swim. My original plan was to swim to the Philipines, but then I remembered that these waters were notorious for sharks. So, as I wait waist deep, I make a mental note to myself “in the future, if there is one, try to maintain better situational awareness”. For some reason, these things seem bigger when there are no bars between you.

Yet another critter I ran into in Singapore. This is the Singapura, found nowhere else. Called the Singapore love cat because of their affectionate nature. Smaller than a domestic cat they are quite rare outside of Singapore where they are considered a national treasure. Affectionate little beggers. Singapura

 

Blue Russian

Ah here’s a jewel. One spring in NC I was airing out the house, and saw a flash of movement going under my bed. Figuring it was one of my cats I ignored it for awhile. When it didn’t come out I got down on the floor to coax it out. It was a really scrawny cat, weighing less than 3 pounds and filthy. After vacuuming it I found it to be a beautiful cat. Have you ever seen a blue animal? I hadn’t. The picture doesn’t do it justice, it had an irridescent sheen when the light flectorized off it. So I did some research. It looks like a Russian Blue, a favorite of Tzar Nicholas who was the only one allowed to have them. When the Romanov family was executed the cats were killed with them. Bye, Bye rusian blue. BUT! It later turned out that Tzar Nicholas had given 12 of them to the King of Sweden at the time. They’re really quite rare. He had been declawed, and I really didn’t have any use for a cat that couldn’t back off a doberman, so I contacted the blue russian society. They were quite skeptical, they knew where all the blue russians were, don’t you know? I sent them some pictures and they sent someone out to check him out. He was sitting on the hood of my car when she arrived and she ignored me and said “Holy shit, it really is a blue russian”. She scooped it up and I could see I’d have to fight her to get it back. There’s no mistaking it if you’ve ever seen one. They had no idea where it came from. Not bad for something you find under the bed.

Serval

Here’s another odd one. At dusk one day toodling down a country road in NC I saw this animal on the side of the road in much the same posture as the picture. It looked like a dingo, which I had seen in Australia (huge ears, right size). “What in the hell is a dingo doing in NC?” A few days later I had taken one of my cats to the vet and saw a poster offering a $1000 reward for a serval cat. Damn it looked like what I saw. I called her up to tell her about it and a few days these same posters began appearing around the neighborhood. A few days later she called me back to say she got her cat. Someone had seen the poster came home from work and saw it waiting with his cat in the driveway. He opened the garage door, they both went in, and he closed it and called her up. She told me she paid $5000 for it and it could run 50 MPH. it’s like a mini cheetah. Which left me to wonder “why would anyone pay $5000 for a cat, specially one that could run 5o MPH?”

Possum

I lived in the country and occasionally would see this one along with mine at the food bowl. Didn’t seem very friendly though.

The Black Death was one of the deadliest pandemics in human history, peaking in Europe between 1348 and 1350. Cats fell out of grace beginning with pope innocent III. (Pope idiot III) doesn’t he look like a goober? He started the black death.

http://www.jesusneverexisted.com/1000years.htm

http://paganismwicca.suite101.com/article.cfm/cats_persecuted_as_familiars

http://inanna.virtualave.net/bastet.html
Nefertiti. A lot of people do not know that sometimes the pharohs were black. There was the lower kingdom which was up on the map, then there was the upper kingdom which was low on the map. Go figure. That’s why I picked the choclate princess above.

 

Leave a Reply

